Joey Zukran

Joey Zukran

eva_derhy

Joey Zukran

Founder

PROFILE

Me Joey Zukran obtained his B.C.L. and LL.B. degrees from McGill University’s faculty of law in May 2015. He articled at a boutique law firm in Montreal, focusing on Consumer Protection. Me Zukran was called to the Barreau du Québec in 2016.

Throughout his studies in law, his experience as a law student at one of Quebec’s largest regional law firms and during his articling, Joey has developed a passion in the field of consumer protection. He contributed to the landmark class action case brought against several tobacco companies in which the Superior Court of Quebec awarded a record-setting $15-billion in punitive and moral damages to Quebec smokers and ex-smokers. This case motivated Joey to author an academic paper on punitive damages titled Punitive Damages and the Case for Reform in Quebec.

Joey’s experience volunteering at the Concordia Student Union Legal Information Clinic strengthened his desire to assist consumers, who at times can be very vulnerable. Recognizing the significant disparity between large corporate entities and the individual consumer, Joey aspires to level the playing field and vigorously protect consumers’ rights.

In his free time, Joey volunteers as a coach for the Côte St-Luc Minor Hockey Association, where his son plays.

AREAS OF EXPERTISE

  • Class Actions
  • Consumer Protection
  • Civil Litigation
  • Constitutional Law
  • Penal Law

PROFESSIONAL AFFILIATIONS

  • Quebec Bar, 2016

PERSONAL AFFILIATIONS

LANGUAGES

English, French, Hebrew

Joey Zukran

Joey Zukran

eva_derhy

Joey Zukran

Fondateur

PROFIL

Me Joey Zukran a obtenu un baccalauréat en droit civil (B.C.L.) et en common law (LL.B.) de la Faculté de droit de l’Université McGill en mai 2015. Il a fait un stage dans un cabinet d’avocats de Montréal spécialisé dans la protection des consommateurs. Me Zukran a été admis au Barreau du Québec en 2016.

Ses études en droit, son parcours d’étudiant en droit dans l’un des plus importants cabinets d’avocats régionaux du Québec ainsi que son stage ont inspiré chez Joey une passion pour le domaine de la protection des consommateurs. Il a participé au célèbre recours collectif intenté contre plusieurs entreprises de l’industrie du tabac, dans le cadre duquel la Cour supérieure du Québec a accordé aux fumeurs et aux ex-fumeurs du Québec un montant record de 15 milliards de dollars en dommages-intérêts punitifs et moraux. Cette cause a poussé Joey à rédiger un article universitaire intitulé Punitive Damages and the Case for Reform in Quebec (Les dommages-intérêts punitifs et la nécessité d’une réforme au Québec).

L’expérience de Joey à titre de bénévole à la Clinique d’information juridique du Syndicat des étudiants et étudiantes de Concordia a renforcé sa volonté de venir en aide aux consommateurs, qui peuvent parfois se retrouver en position de grande vulnérabilité. Reconnaissant l’important écart entre les grandes entreprises et les consommateurs, Joey aspire à uniformiser les règles du jeu et à défendre vigoureusement les droits des consommateurs.

Dans ses temps libres, Joey est entraîneur bénévole à l’Association du hockey mineur de Côte Saint-Luc, où joue son fils.

DOMAINE D’EXPERTISES

AFFILIATIONS PROFESSIONNELLES

AFFILIATIONS PERSONNELLES

LANGUES

Français, Anglais, Hébreu